The Movement for the Survival of the Ogoni People, MOSOP, has constituted a seven member Planning Committee for the 24th Remembrance Anniversary of Ogoni Martyrs.

This was part of actions taken in a well-attended MOSOP Steering Committee meeting held in Port Harcourt, presided over by the President, Comrade Legborsi Saro Pyagbara, with Ogoni Kingdom Coordinators, affiliate heads and opinion leaders in attendance.

Members of the Committee are  Rev. Godswill Keenam, who serves as Chaiman; Sunny Zorvah, Secretary; Elder Kanyone G. Kagbaranen; Mrs. Helen S. Kpankpaa; Barinaadaa Kpaalap, President, National Union of Ogoni Students; Ms. Dorka Best, Vice President NUOS; and Comrade Gideon Amba.

According to the Publicity Secretary, MOSOP, Sunny Zorva, amongst other terms of reference, the Committee is to plan and mobilize resources for the success of the various activities of the 24th Anniversary.

The MOSOP President, Comrade Legborsi Pyagbara, charged the Committee to take any steps necessary for a hitch-free commemorative event.

He further announced that this year’s remembrance programme will begin on Saturday, November 9 with a Public Lecture and climaxed on Sunday, November 10, with Church Thanksgiving Service in Bori, Ogoni.

It would be recalled that Ken Saro-Wiwa and other Ogoni leaders were unjustly murdered by the Nigerian State on November 10, 1995, an event that drew wide condemnations from world leaders and the international community, leading to the suspension of Nigeria from the Commonwealth.

Meanwhile, following the reconciliation process in Ogoni, the day has continued to be marked in honour of all Known and unsung heroes, as well as all those who have suffered any form of abuses or attacks in the course of the Ogoni struggle against injustice.